Eat as much as you want, kids :)

Creating nutritious and delicious recipes is a bit of a hobby of mine and healthy snacks are my strong suit! Today I gave my 7 year old, Asher, some apple slices, a little pot of real maple syrup and a pot of Chia seeds. Take apple slice, dip in syrup, dip in Chia, take a bite! Great texture and flavor with the added bonus of some good healthy omegas and fiber.

For my first blog post, I would like to share a recipe I created a couple of weeks ago and have made 5 times since! This is one kind of cookie that my little guys could snack on happily all day! Got the thumbs up from hubby too.

This little cookie is full of goodness.

Ingredients

  • 1 ripe banana (mashed)
  • 1 egg
  •  half a syringe full of liquid Sweet Leaf Stevia (I like English toffee flavor)
  • 8 tablesoons of virgin coconut oil (melted)
  • 1/3 cup of milk (almond, coconut rice or hemp)
  • 1/2 cup of coconut flour
  • 1 tablespoon of hemp seed
  • 1 tablespoon of chia seed
  • 1 tablespoon of flax seed meal
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 1/3 cup of chocolate chips (sometimes I do 1/2)

Directions

Set oven to 350 degrees. Grease a cookie sheet. Place chia seed and  milk in a little cup and set aside. This will form a gel after 10 minutes. Put mashed banana, egg, oil and stevia in a bowl and mash up until smooth. Add your chia/milk gel to this. Stir.

Mix the coconut flour, hemp seed, flax seed meal and baking powder in a bowl. Add dry mixture to wet and stir. It should be a pretty thick mixture. Add chocolate chips and stir.

Form little balls about the size of a ping pong ball and place on cookie sheet. you can put them close together as they will not spread at all. Bake for 15 minutes until the top gets a little golden. Put on cooling rack. Watch them disappear before your eyes 🙂

4 thoughts on “Eat as much as you want, kids :)

  1. How I miss all those wonderful ingredients,, let me see I have some chia,, of course loads of bananas, coconuts eggs…I think I have them all.. I shall let you know how they turn out.

Leave a Reply

