Tools of the Trade and a Messy Work Space

This is my messy work space.

It starts off so very clean and organized and then it kind of erupts into a sea of wool that takes over the entire kitchen, hallway…front room. There are boxes of wool for my boys to trip over wherever they go. They are used to navigating the open spaces now.

It is not uncommon for my family to find bits of wool in their food and I more often than not have little bits clinging to my clothing throughout the day. I found a large clump of roving in Jasper’s hair the other day and a fluff ball in my husband’s stubble.

Above is a fraction of the mayhem.

Then I have a major clean up and we start the cycle over again.

I love my tools. If I weren’t already married to a great guy I would marry them. When someone touches my needles I feel very nervous. I want to protect them from harm. When other people use them they get bent and that makes me sad.

Now I kind of understand how my Dad felt when I wanted to use his prized pattern cutting scissors on paper…

From the top

  • six needle holder (have had this for 3 years and LOVE it)
  • needle nose pliers (good for removing big mistakes)
  • 3 needle pen holder (fantastic)
  • 12 needle holder (gift from hubby that I was afraid to use for over a year)
  • wonderful haberdashery scissors from MIL
  • 40 triangle single
  • 38 star single
  • 36 star single

If you are starting out, I recommend a couple of singles and maybe the 3 needle pen holder. That will keep you going for a while. Pen holder is available from Amazon for about $12 http://www.amazon.com/Clover-Style-Needle-Felting-Tool/dp/B00172TD5S

You can buy a wonderful starter kit and extra needles from a lovely little Etsy store here http://www.etsy.com/listing/62921755/fantastic-deluxe-needle-felting-starter

Oh and just look at *part* of my own wool stash!!!! Yummy!

Leave a Reply

